The hamlet

Il borgo

 

 

Ancient walls, houses and streets, princely palaces and rural dwellings, the orderly rows of vines today characterise the village of Passirano, immersed in the green of the countryside of the glacial hills. The crest features two sparrows on a bough, but perhaps the name comes from the Roman family called the Passirii.
The first record dates back to around the turn of the first Millennium but the existence of the castle between 900 and 950 is certain. Today it stands as a solitary monument on the road that leads to Bornato.

The territory was owned by various Brescian monasteries and noble families. From 1335, it was an independent municipality, as a recently rediscovered milestone testifies.

Like many of the other villages of Franciacorta, it played its part in the bloody events of the XV and XVI centuries. In 1630, the road that joined it to Brescia was sealed with a great chain to protect the inhabitants from the contagion of the plague and even today the place bears the name Cadendone, or “Big chain.”

The typical hamlet of Valenzano includes the Romanesque bell tower of Sant’Alessandro surrounded by the remains of the monastery and other elegant residences displaying walls in local stone.

At the heart of Franciacorta, to the south, on the slopes of Monte Delma at Valenzano, lie the rows of our vines and at the centre, underground, are the wine producing and ageing cellars

The name of the farm, MONTE DELMA ESTATE, is homage to this place.

muro
 
__________________________________________________________________
Tenuta Monte Delma di Berardi P. & P. Soc. Agr. 25050 Passirano (Brescia) - Italia - Tel. e Fax. + 39 030 6546161